Home > Corruption, India, Indian Economy, Indian media, Politics, Social Trends > Big Brother State Makes Food Choices For Us

Big Brother State Makes Food Choices For Us


Why is the State getting involved with what I eat and drink?

English-speaking middle class vermin

A middle-class, English-speaking Indian decides that the neighbouring country liquor vendor must be shut down. Uses CNN-IBN Citizen Journalist promo to get media coverage.

Feeling very sanctimonious, Pradeep Bhatia pushes a reluctant local police station to shut down a small-time entrepreneur. This tea-stall and selling country liquor, was definitely not the type that is patronized by the rich or even the middle-class. Note, in the entire CNN-IBN report, there is no mention of law & order problem from this tea-and-liquor outlet owner or its patrons.

I wonder if he would have done this against a more powerful bar?

Anyways, who is anyone to decide what I will eat and drink? Should the State regulate my choices of food and drink? Can Pradeep Bhatia and the Police Inspector decide what I will eat and drink?

Not in भारत-तंत्र Bharat-tantra, at least.

Disclaimer: I have no interest in this tea-stall, liquor, country or otherwise. While I am a teetotaler, I see no reason I should impose my preferences on anyone else.
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

